Welsh Alliance set up confirmed

By Adam Hughes in Football

THE Lock Stock Welsh Alliance will have the full complement of 32 clubs in its top two divisions next season, with the new campaign set to kick-off on 12 August.

With the division one champions Glantraeth having declined promotion to the Huws Gray Cymru Alliance, runners-up Llandudno Junction opted to accept the elevation in their place, with Conwy Borough stepping down from that level.

The expulsion of Abergele Town, because of their Kinmel Bay ground shortcomings, means that Llanrwst United’s future in division one is assured, despite finishing in the bottom two last season.

Glan Conwy, however, were relegated into division two, with Llandudno Albion and Mynydd Llandygai both achieving promotion to the top flight.

Prestatyn Sports, who had been successful in their appeal to the FAW against their expulsion from the Welsh Alliance, because of alleged Gronant ground problems, have retained their position in division two.

Three clubs were meanwhile admitted as newcomers into division two, with Bodedern Athletic and Aberffraw from the Snowdonia Fire Protection Gwynedd League and Llannefydd from the Clwyd and Vale of Conwy League stepping up.

The membership of Divison One will be made up of Barmouth and Dyffryn Utd; Conwy Borough; Glantraeth; Greenfield; Llanberis; Llandudno Albion; Llandyrnog Utd; Llangefni Town; Llanrug Utd; Llanrwst Utd; Mynydd Llandegai; Nantlle Vale; Penrhyndeudraeth; Pwllheli; St Asaph City; and Trearddur Bay.

Division Two membership will be made up of Aberffraw; Amlwch Town; Blaenau Ffestiniog Amateurs; Bodedern Athletic; Cemaes Bay; Gaerwen; Glan Conwy; Llanfairpwll; Llannefydd; Llannerchymedd; Meliden; Mochdre Sports; Penmaenmawr Phoenix; Pentraeth; Prestatyn Sports; and Y Felinheli.

The Reserves Division will meanwhile be made up of 10 teams, including: Bangor City; Denbigh Town; Holyhead Hotspur; Llanberis; Llandudno Junction; Llangenfi Town; Llanrug Utd; Penmaenmawr Phoenix; Prestatyn Town and Rhyl.

Meanwhile Barmouth and Dyffryn United picked up the award for best match programme in division one, with Cemaes Bay acknowledged in division two.

The other award winners in division one went to Managher of the Season Warren Gibbs, Glantraeth; Player of the Season Aaron Peel, Glan Conwy; Best Club Secretary Gwilym Owen, Trearddur Bay United; Top Scorer Corrig McGonigle, Glantraeth; Fair Play Award, St Asaph City; and Best Referee, Kelvin Lewis, Caernarfon.

Division Two Manager of the Season Paul Cheung, Llandudno Albion; Player of the Season Steve Whittaker, Cemaes Bay; Best Secretary, Edryd H Jones, Cemaes Bay; Top Score Alwyn Roberts, Mynydd Llandygai; Fair Play, Llandudno Albion.

The following pre-season friendly fixtures involving Welsh Alliance sides have been arranged for this Saturday: Barmouth & Dyffryn v Porthmadog 2.30pm; Llandudno Amateurs v Meliden 2.30pm; Llandyrnog Utd v Llansannan 12pm; Abergele Town v Cemaes Bay 2.30pm; Gaerwen v Bodorgan 2.30pm; Johnstown v Penmaenmawr; Caernarfon Town v Llangenfi Town 2.30pm; Conwy Borough v Runcorn Linnets; Valley v Mochdre Sports 2.30pm.

Related Articles

Add Comment

Add Your Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment

By posting your comment you agree to our T & C